Top

Looking for the best mover?

We've done the homework so you don't have to. Suggest Movers For Me No thanks, I'll search for movers myself.
Rfq mp modalclose
Need quotes from Baltimore movers?

Get Mover Quotes

Get Mover Quotes

"Lack of Customer Support!!!"

Review of Platinum Services, Inc.
1 out of 5
Lack of Customer Support!!!by

Denying almost every item as "pre-existing damage" is inaccurate and not a fair representation of how our household goods were when Platinum Services Inc. company received them compared to when they were returned to us. We also have filed our claims on time, when the movers brought all our long-term storage items. We did not hear from this company until months, after we contacted the company by phone and on their website contact option. We never received an actual timeline or submission deadline from our claims adjuster Christopher Smoot. We submitted an additional claim after finding more items damaged. The last and final claim submission was in December 2020, after we had to contact Christopher Smoot again because we haven't heard back from him after the inspector came to estimate the damage on all items.
There were also multiple instances were we called and could not get a hold of Mr. Smoot. We were informed that due to COVID-19 Mr. Smoot was not always available. We understand COVID-19 had a substantial impact on moving companies as well as our family during our transition back to the United States after serving five years overseas, but this should not be a reason to deny any of our claims for timely filing and preexisting condition.

Platinum Services, Inc. Photo 1
Platinum Services, Inc.
Jan 16, 2021

Mr. Wilson,

I understand that you are not happy with the settlement offer presented to you on 12/5/20. However the offer complies with all of the requirements outlined in the Defense Personal Property Program Claims and Liability Rules applicable to your DOD sponsored Non Temporary Storage shipment. For clarity I am going to address a few items mentioned in your review. You are correct that your claim was filed on time. However it wasn’t filed on 5/14/20 when your items were delivered. The document completed and returned to our office on 5/14/20 was The Joint Statement of Loss or Damage at Delivery (DD1840). You were provided a copy of this document signed by you and the delivery driver. On the opposite side of the copy given to you was the DD1840R Form which may be used to document any loss or damage discovered after the delivery date. This DOD Form contains instructions on its use as well as the DOD time requirement for submission. This information was also available at the move.mil website and other places. As the Transportation Service Provider, Platinum wasn’t responsible for providing you a timeline or deadline. Nor was one requested from us. When you contacted our office on 7/15/20 a DD1844 claim form with instructions and my contact information was emailed to you the same day. Your initial and incomplete (for lack of required information) Claim was not received until 8/19/20.

With regard to the items being claimed, only three were denied solely for pre-existing damage that was noted on the inventory when the items were picked up. Seventeen items were denied for lack of Notice of Loss/Damage within the required 75 days. Of these seventeen items the damage being claimed to four of them was also listed as pre-existing damage on the inventory. For example you included 5 pictures of a sofa/loveseat with your review. In your claim filed on 8/19/20 you describe the damage to the sofa being claimed as “Back leg and crown are broken off, seating in bend and sunk in”. While the inventory created at the time of pickup on 6/15/16 and signed by you describes the following pre- existing condition of this item. Green cloth love seat – legs scratched, rubbed and loose; top broken and cracked; seat dented. Your claim also lists a canoe seat with the claimed damage described by you as “wicker mesh is torn”. You submitted a photo of the canoe with your claim. The photo clearly shows a canoe with a damaged seat and thwart board. Line number 115 of the inventory signed by you describes the following item and pre-existing damage conditions. 16 Foot canoe with broken seat and board. The Professional Restoration Company that inspected your items also noted pre-existing damages to several of the items inspected. That being said the original offer is still available. As I have stated before you also have the option of transferring your claim to the Military Claims Office for adjudication.

Christopher Smoot
Vice President

Platinum Services, Inc. Reviews - 15


Share this review

Twitter Facebook Email
or copy and share the direct link to this page:


Platinum Services, Inc.

( 4.5 overall, based on 15 reviews)

Facebook
410-631-9701410-631-9701
800 Gusryan Street
Baltimore, MD 21224

Platinum Services located in Baltimore, Maryland, has everything you’ll need when the time comes to relocate your household goods or other items from your home or business. We possess our own fleet of trucks and 44,400 square foot climate controlled, secure storage facility.

Need to contact this mover about your shipment?

Contact this mover


Get at least 3 quotes for your move:

Check out more movers in Baltimore


Get quotes from more Baltimore, MD movers

3.0 1 review

I was quoted move with all supplies included except boxes. Movers showed up an hour late (which I expected). They said I would have to pay for shrink wrap and blankets and other packing stuff. I... Read more

  • Full-Service Move
  • Moving Labor
  • In state
  • Out of state
  • International
5.0 1 review

The moving company was very very very very very very very very good. They showed up on time and ready to work. They moved my things with care and also helped arrange my furniture. Great company!... Read more

  • Full-Service Move
  • Moving Labor
  • In state
  • Out of state

Nice guys, fair pricing and good service. I would definitely use them again. Read more

  • Full-Service Move
  • Moving Labor
  • In state
  • Out of state
 

Get Mover Quotes


Get Mover Quotes

Are you from Platinum Services, Inc.? Learn how to remove the other movers from your profile page.